Posted in Life

The Birth (of perspective)day

Birthdays! I’ve never been particularly excited about them. I could never see why people felt birthdays were exciting when all I felt was that I was getting older. And the real world was one year closer.

But my 21’st has been a revelation. It’s changed the way I think about some things. And its been one heck of an amazing day!

I got loads of wishes, more than I’d expected, from my family, my close friends and even people I haven’t spoken to in ages. The wonder of social media! It made me feel very nice, like people were thinking of me. I was walking to meet my favourite science communicator, Alice Roberts, when I realised I was smiling goofily. I was happy. I was confident. And my friends words came back to me, ‘Live everyday like your birthday’ and it made sense. I didn’t need it to be my birthday to feel special, to feel unique. On my birthday, I knew it was my day and so I was confidently swaggering about! There’s nothing stopping me from making every day my day! I felt I’d discovered one of the secrets to happiness.

I wasn’t expecting anything else really. After my housemates made me a handmade sign for my birthday, I was sure it couldn’t get any better. The fact that they’d taken time out to make me, (me!)  a sign was overwhelming. They proved they could make it better when they surprised me with bowling. All my closest friends were there, they’d planned to make my day special. And they did. The fun we had bowling and the lovely dinner, it was all amazing. They had more surprises in store though. Their presents were very thoughtful, very genuine. Everything they got me I loved.

But what I loved most of all was their company. They  were with me on my birthday, and that was the best gift of all. They made me feel loved, feel appreciated and like a princess. They’ve taught me to live, and to let loose. They’ve transformed this strange place into home, and I couldn’t be more thankful to them. I also couldn’t thank fate enough, for throwing us together. They’ve changed me for the better. They’ve taught me to love my birthday. To celebrate the day I came to this world. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. So every day I plan to feel special. To make my friends feel special.

Author:

I'm a writer, a poet, an observer and a studier of life.

Leave a Reply

